THE AMERICAN SOUTHWEST
About Me

I'm in a transitional period of my life. As a 53 year old small business owner, I decided in January 2018 to go back to school and become a high school history teacher and volleyball coach.

 Born and raised in Tucson, Arizona, much of my family was originally from the San Antonio area. I lived here in San Antonio from 1976 to 1980, and from 1988 to the present. 

I've done a little bit of everything in my life. After high school, I was a musician, and even released an album of soft rock music with some regional success in the Tucson area. I joined the United States Air Force in 1988, and was stationed at Kelly Air Force Base until 1992, when I started my third career: radio air personality. I spent five years with Magic 105.3 Radio on the Sonny Melendrez Morning Show, and six years as part of the KTSA morning show, doing traffic and the occasional anchor position. From 2001 to the present, I have been involved in high school sports as an announcer, magazine and website publisher, and special guest on various radio and TV shows.

My wife of 25 years has been my foundation through much of this. I have two adult children. Bradley, my oldest, works IT in the Austin area, is married and has a four year old daughter. My youngest, Sel, is a budding actress, singer, and producer. She has a bachelor's degree in Theater with a minor in Music from Our Lady of the Lake University, and is my miracle girl. I say that because she has undergone 23 hear surgeries, with last rites given on three separate occasions.
Answers to home page picture quiz:
​Top left: California
Top center: Nevada
Top right: Utah
​Bottom left: Texas
​Bottom center: Arizona
Bottom right: New Mexico